The Ministry of Youth & Sports is another important provider of skill training to the youths of ages 17 to 25. The Ministry’s efforts to mould and produce skilled individuals in various skills areas/fields are in line with the National Youth Development Policy that can subsequently contribute to the national industrial sector of having semi-skilled and skilled workers.

By providing skill trainings through its Skill Department, the role of the Ministry of Youth & Sports is to train as many youths as possible in various fields through the various approaches, such as short and long term training as well as institutionalized and non-institutionalized training.

(i) Institutionalized Training - IKBN

Institutionalized training can be defined as part-time skills training which is conducted at Institut Kemahiran Belia Negara (IKBN) located throughout the country. There are various skills areas being offered, such as Mechanical, Automotive, Electric, Electronic, Civil Engineering, Hospitality, Textile & Apparel and Personnel Services based on the accreditation system of Sijil Kemahiran Malaysia (SKM) and Jabatan Bekalan Elektrik dan Gas (JBE & G).

National Youth Training Institutes (IKBN)

• Introduction
The National Youth Skill Training Institutes (Institut Kemahiran Belia Negara, IKBN) were established by the Ministry of Youth and Sports in the year 1996, with its original intention of reducing unemployment rate among school dropouts and enabling them to acquire jobs. Thereafter its training programmes were expanded towards human resource development by training as many youths as possible in the field of technical skills so as to produce skilled workers to meet the needs of the industrial sector.

• List of IKBNs
Currently there are 14 IKBN and one IKTBN (providing advanced skill training programmes) under the Skill Department of the Ministry of Youth & Sports :
1. IKBN Wakaf Tapai, Terengganu
2. IKBN Dusun Tua, Selangor
3. IKTBN Sepang, Selangor
4. IKBN Peretak, Selangor
5. IKBN Seri Iskandar, Perak
6. IKBN Jitra, Kedah
7. IKBN Kuala Perlis, Perlis
8. IKBN Seberang Prai, Pulau Pinang
9. IKBN Chembong, Negri Sembilan
10. IKBN Alor Gajah, Melaka
11. IKBN Pagoh, Johor
12. IKBN Bachok, Kelantan
13. IKBN Miri, Sarawak
14. IKBN Kinarut, Sabah
15. IKBN Pontian , Johor (in cooperation with KOBENA Sdn Bhd)

Five of the aforementioned IKBNs will be turned into Centres of Excellence that focus on one of the following fields of specialisation:
- IKBN Seberang Perai - Electric and Electronic
- IKBN Chembong - Automotive
- IKBN Alor Gajah - Hospitality
- IKBN Pagoh - Mechanical
- IKBN Bachok - Civil Engineering

• Entry Requirements
The minimum qualifications are:
- Should be a Malaysian citizen aged between 17-24
- Should have completed Form 5
- Should pass the SPM examination with passes in Bahasa Melayu, Mathematics/Science/Physics/Chemistry.
- Should possess SKM 1 and SKM 2 qualification for those who want to pursue SKM 3 and Diploma in Technology

Candidates should be Malaysian citizens aged between 17-24 years and should not have undertaken any training from any institutes. In addition, candidates must also be single, in good health condition with no physical disabilities, have never been involved in any criminal activities, and are willing to undergo training until completion of the programme.

• How to Apply
There are 2 intakes every year (January & July). Advertisements will be placed in the major newspapers in March and August. For further details, please contact the respective State Youth & Sports Departments or the Ministry of Youth & Sports at:

Ketua Setiausaha
Skills Development Division
Ministry of Youth and Sports
Tingkat 2, Blok G, Jalan Dato’ Onn,
50570 Kuala Lumpur
Tel: 03 - 2690 8421 / 2690 8355
Fax : 03-2693 2231